Monday, September 23, 2013

Never My Love, The Anthology : New 4CD box set incl. 23 unreleased studio + live tracks on Nov 11th, 2013 !

Never My Love : The Anthology - 4CD Boxset
Three years after the french boxset called Someday We'll All Be Free and 10 years after the aborted project from Rhino UK, Warner is gonna release Never My Love : The Anthology a new 4 CD boxset on nov. 11th, 2013  including 13 never heard before songs and unreleased live takes recorded at the Bitter End (New-York City) in october 1971. This box contains a very long essay written by the english journalist Charles Waring plus an interview with Roberta Flack.

The first CD compiled some classic tracks (incl some edit versions published only on 45 rpm) recorded by Donny Hathaway including the duets with June Conquest he recorded in the late sixties for Curtom Records, Curtis Mayfield label based in Chicago.

The second CD compiled 13 never heard before demos; mostly "work in progress" tracks including a 20 minutes long amazing classical concerto (previously calley Life Pt. 1-4) recorded in october 1973 after the Newport Jazz festival tour, Donny did during the summer 1973.

The third CD compiled some unreleased takes recorded at The Bitter End in NYC. Donny played 9 sets, between October 27 & 29 1971. You could hear for the first time a 15 min funky version of The Ghetto and an alternative take of Everything Is Everything incl. an other Willie Weeks amazing bass solo and a great bluesy solo played Cornell Dupree, Donny's guitarist.

Last CD compiled all studio tracks with Roberta Flack officially already released between 1972 to 1977.

Disc 1 : The Life and Music of Donny Hathaway

1. I Thank You Baby – June & Donnie
2. Just Another Reason – Donny Hathaway & June Conquest
3. The Ghetto – Part 1
4. The Ghetto – Part 2
5. Thank You Master (For My Soul) (Promo Edit)
6. Voices Inside (Everything Is Everything)
7. Tryin’ Times
8. To Be Young, Gifted and Black
9. I Believe To My Soul
10. This Christmas
11. A Song For You
12. Magnificent Sanctuary Band
13. Giving Up
14. Come Back Charleston Blue – Donny Hathaway with Margie Joseph
15. Little Ghetto Boy (Studio Version)
16. Valdez In The Country
17. I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know
18. Lord Help Me
19. Come Little Children
20. Love, Love, Love
21. Someday We’ll All Be Free
22. You Were Meant For Me

Disc 2 : Unreleased Studio Recordings

1. Never My Love
2. A Lot Of Soul
3. Let’s Groove
4. Latin Time
5. Tally Rand
6. Memory Of Our love
7. Sunshine And Showers
8. After The Dance Is Done
9. Don’t Turn Away
10. Always The Same
11. Brown Eyed Lady (Instrumental)
12. The Sands Of Time
13. ZYXYGY Concerto

Disc 3 : Live at The Bitter End 1971 (All Previously Unreleased Performances)

1. What’s Going On
2. Sack Full Of Dreams
3. Little Ghetto Boy
4. You’ve Got A Friend
5. Voices Inside (Everything Is Everything)
6. He Ain’t Heavy, He’s My Brother
7. Jealous Guy
8. I Love You More Than You’ll Ever Know
9. Hey Girl
10. The Ghetto

Disc 4 : Roberta Flack & Donny Hathaway Duets

1. I (Who Have Nothing)
2. You’ve Got A Friend
3. Baby I Love You
4. Be Real Black For Me
5. You’ve lost That Loving Feeling
6. For All We Know
7. Where Is The Love
8. When Love Has Grown
9. Come Ye Disconsolate
10. Mood
11. The Closer I Get To You
12. You Are My Heaven
13. Back Together Again

French customers can already pre-order Never My Love, The Anthology on Amazon France & Amazon USA

1 comment: