Sunday, May 9, 2010

Instant groove, King Curtis (1958/1969)

King Curtis was a great saxophonist who played with Nat Adderley, Aretha Franklin, Wynton Kelly, Sam Cooke and lionel Hampton among others. He was also the man who saw Donny Hathaway at a record fair & convinced his label, Atlantic, to sign the young guy.This album is a compilation of tunes recorded between 1958 & 1969. Donny Hathaway played the piano on several tracks.

Track listing
1. Instant Groove
2. Hey Joe
3. Foot Pattin'
4. Wichita Lineman
5. Games People Play
6. Sing a Simple Song
7. The Weight
8. La Jeanne
9. Little Green Apples
10. Somewhere
11. Hold Me Tight
12. Hey Jude

No comments:

Post a Comment